Bus line does not make money

Home Forums General Discussion Bus line does not make money

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    drsoong
    Participant

Hi

I am an absolute beginner and have run through the getting started tutorial where it is recommended to built bus lines that constantly make money. The trouble is I have exactly done as said in the tutorial but for some unknown reason the bus line only constantly costs money each time the “bus” stops. Does anybody know why the buses don’t earn money?

Blokker_1999
    Participant

You need enough busses on a line in order to attract passengers and it is those passengers that will earn you money. Running a single or two busses == loss, you need to get an interval of a bus every 2 to 3 minutes. And a line that consists of no more than about 8 stops.

drsoong
    Participant

Many thanks. Things changed when  a new bus type was available and I took this one. Then suddenly I started to earn money. I follow your advice and see where I get. Thanks again.

gcampono
    Participant

I also tend to go slightly in the red (hard difficulty) because I have a higher frequency. I still feel that it helps feeding my other train lines.

However, I am not convinced about what is the best type of line. Is it better a circular line or it is better a hub and spoke line (I mean, station/residential>commerce>station/residential>leisure>station/residential>industry) or even multiple separate lines ? Did you experiment with different liines layouts ?

drsoong
    Participant

@gcampono: No, I am still doing the beginner stuff. Trying to understand the interface and why streets can not be built as I want to etc.

The game seems to be way more demanding than I thought.

simonmd
    Participant

Supply and demand, that’s what this game is all about. The new bus was probably a bit faster than the old one and so it made the bus line attractive.

Varana
    Participant