How to mod

Home Forums General Discussion How to mod

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Rustyrockets
    Participant

Hello fellow transport/train game lovers.

I am a college student in the US , and I would like to ask you veterans of the games , how to actually start creating mods.

Please think that you are answering to a complete dummy , who has no idea of anything about modding.

Please tell me where to start , so someday in the future I can contribute to the community.

(If i ever learn to mod, All the Landmarks and Real world skyscrappers would be the first things to come).

Berry
    Participant

Download Blender, open it, uninstall.exe is the way most people mod… And I don’t blame them.

It is really complicated, it isn’t just like you can make a highly detailed model in half an hour. So the first step is to determine if you are willing to put a lot of time into making mods, because it will take time to learn how everything works and it will be a thing of trial and error. I kind of liked making mods, but I stopped, because it takes a pretty big ammount of  time to model something from nothing, I had other stuff to do so I just didn’t care for it enough to continue modding. (I made car models for GTA IV if you’re wondering.)

And don’t think that it is just making a 3D model, oh no, no, no, no mister, you also have to make textures for your 3D model. However making textures was the most fun thing IMO, that’s why I kept making skins for cars after I quit making 3D models.

It’s not like you are the ultimate modder once you got a modding tool, hell no… I’m going to tell you a little secret. You will suck at it at first. I can promise you that. So did I, so did everyone else… I guess…

Are you still into the modding scene?