Train maintenance + trams

Home Forums General Discussion Train maintenance + trams

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    terx
    Participant

Hello there!

I’ve been playing the game for some hours, and I noticed a few things

Train maintenance cost is really high, Higher then I expected it to be, None of my trains made any profit while being 75% or more filled. But i love to play with the trains, and they look quite good. but I get limited because of the non profit
    Might need a bit of balacing, (but this could be just me!)

Also Trams are a free win.
    I build a tramline between 2 cities, Drop 15/20 trams on it, make 2Mil profit,
    Seems a bit easy way to win. I could repeat this with many tram connections all making 1mil or more profit.

I hope this feedback could be usefull in some way!

doc0c
    Participant

Hi terx, it’s quite an interesting game and I’m no expert. I have noticed and read around about the way people in your cities “think”. If the total time for the trip takes more than 20 minutes, they will most likely just not take the trip. That said, if the distance between cities is great enough, your trams will not be able to breach this time barrier. So, trams will work great for inter-city trip if the cities are close. Once the gap widens, you run into the time barrier and must use higher speed vehicles.

Regarding the train maintenance cost, it can be prohibitive later on in the game. So far, my strategy has been to get a train line as quickly as I can. So, I pick 2-3 cities that are close to each other (preferably in a straigh line). I quickly build road infrastructure in all three cities to get the people moving. Once I’m profitable and my loans are paid off (usually within 10 years), I start building the first train line. It will lose money at first, but once it gets established, your citizens will fill the train stations.

genburson
    Participant