A pleasant surprise: Initial impressions

Home Forums General Discussion A pleasant surprise: Initial impressions

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    lobsang
    Participant

I’ve been out of the loop, I didn’t know that Train Fever had been released a few months ago.

The other day I was reading an article about the Settlers 2, which had be reminiscing of another favourite from that time in Transport Tycoon.

A quick Google about Transport Tycoon and wow – Train Fever is out. – so I thought I had to try it.
    (It could do with a few more mainstream website reviews as its gone under the radar)

Transport Tycoon was 20 years ago, and I don’t think anything has ever come close to recapturing the magic, and the addiction of growing your network (Others have tried and were boring/sterile eg CIM), and of having a great big trainset.

After familiarising myself with Train Fever I was hooked, I started playing the other day at 10am and looked up at the clock and it was 7pm – something I don’t think I’ve done with a game in years. (Its dragged me away from Dragon Age)

I think the key, and also the greatest weakness, is the lack of help. its a joy to finally figure out how the world works for yourself and try new things
    The interface is pretty logical and gives the simplest options to make complex things.

I really like

– The town growth system

– I love the fact that each traveler is simulated – shows how far we’ve come in 20 years (And it gets it pretty right unlike Simcity)

– Big long trains 🙂 (Seeing a full length TGV brings a smile)

– The track laying tool (A few glitches, but the underlying principle is sound) Double tracking is easy, as is upgrdaing an existing line

– The line direction highlighting (Nice and clear to see which route a line is taking in a passing loop/double track)

– The economy – Costs of new teach vs old seem pretty well balanced

Things that could be improved