Any tutorials on adding custom vehicles to this game?

Home Forums Modding Any tutorials on adding custom vehicles to this game?

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    flanker
    Participant

Hey guys, I’m pretty new to 3d stuff but I know some basics already. I’d like to create a new model from a blueprint (I’m using a trial version of Rhino 3D at the moment) and I watched a lot of tutorials on how to do the technical part (drawing and creating a 3d object from scratch).
    Now, I would definitely love if someone could point me to a tutorial on how to transfer my locomotive (once I get it done) from Rhino to Train Fever. Is there any kind of tutorial on how to add texture to finished models and then transfer that model to this game?

It probably sounds like a super-noob question but I’m willing to learn and I have a lot of free time right now… 🙂

Tattoo
    Participant

There is a bunch of info on the German site in the Lexicon section. Most are in German but some have been translated. Is this just a locomotive or a multi-part passenger train? It’ll be easy if it’s just a locomotive. If it’s a multi-part train, it’ll be more difficult but not that hard unless you need fakebogies for it to work. Fakebogies are confusing a lot of people but they’re not that hard once you understand how they work.

The way I learned how vehicles and others are done in TF is to import the vehicle parts into Max and then go from there. When importing, be sure to uncheck anything to change the centers or any axis flips. I didn’t know this at first and had me guessing because of it until I figured out to uncheck that stuff.

Let me know if you have more questions and I’ll help if I can. Also, everything I imported from TF is rotated 90 degrees clockwise looking from the top down.

flanker
    Participant

Thank you for your reply Tattoo 🙂